God is Not

It’s been said that God is love. But love never gets defined. Isis says God (Allah) is love, and Islam says the same. The Jews say God (Yahweh) is love. And Catholics say God is love, too; but they say it differently than Lutherans, who say it differently than Methodists, who say it differently than Anglicans, Adventists, Mormons, Church of Christ, and Evangelicals. If God really is love, how can He be like what all these churches and religions describe, when each presents a picture of God that is so different?

Strangely, we may not agree on what love is, but most people will agree on what a friend is. A friend sticks by your side even when the going gets rough. A friend can tell you the truth when you need to hear it, and they will do it with a smile or when needed, a tear, and with loads of compassion. A friend looks out for your best interests. A friend won’t ever throw you under the bus.

I think its better to define God as your best friend than to say, He is love, because there are so many types of love. I love my dog! I love your shoes! I love my cappuccino! And, I love my God? But we all know what we mean when we say, my friend sticks closer than a brother. My friend has never let me down. I can trust him or her with any secret.

Let me tell you a secret. I have found God to be the best friend a person could ever have. He is always there to talk to; He never leaves you or forsakes you, and He comforts me when there are no others. When you read His written word, its like He is right next to you, talking to you, encouraging you, telling you just what to look at and what to do with those heart-rending decisions that always crop up. And reading and praying to Him gives you peace, peace of mind and heart, peace that the world can not give.

Another way to describe God is: what God is NOT. He is not rude. He is not arrogant. He is not proud and not puffed up. He does not lie. He is not arbitrary. He is not an exacting task master. He is not severe or unforgiving or vengeful. And how do I know? I have studied the life and death of Jesus, who said before He went back to heaven, “If you have seen Me you have see the Father.”

What is God like? If you use the definition of love given in 1Corinthians 13, then, God is love. But you can also describe Him by saying, what He is NOT. And if you want, you can say with me, He is the greatest friend I have ever known.

One thought on “God is Not

Leave a Reply

